Cardinal Foundation

Cardinal Foundation

Events & Fundraisers

The Swoop Sprint 5K is a family-friendly scholarship fundraiser hosted by Gadsden State and the Gadsden State Cardinal Foundation. The purpose of the event is to raise money for student scholarships. It is a Gadsden Runners Club Prix Event. Last year's the Swoop Sprint raised $8,900.

Congratulations to our 2022 Swoop Sprint Scholarship recipients:

  • Technical Scholarship: Tanner Harry
  • Cherokee Campus Scholarship: Kaitlyn Meats
  • East Broad/Gadsden Campus Scholarship: Molly Lopez
  • Ayers Campus Scholarship: Haven Freeman 
  • Valley Street Campus Scholarship: Brittany White

Swoop Sprint logo


The Cardinal Foundation held a luncheon for scholarship recipients on September 22, 2022 in the One Stop Center on the East Broad Campus. See an album of photos from the event.

2022 Scholarship Luncheon



The Cardinal Foundation presents several scholarships each year to Gadsden State students. 

Apply for Cardinal Foundation Scholarships

About Us


The Cardinal Foundation exists to support the mission of Gadsden State Community College and provide opportunities for students.


The Cardinal Foundation is an approved IRS 501(c)(3) support organization established to raise, manage, distribute and steward private resources to support the mission of Gadsden State. The Foundation is managed and controlled by a Board of Directors.


The Cardinal Foundation
P.O. Box 8265, Gadsden, AL 35902
Tax ID #46-0730246

Donate Online


Members of the Board of Directors represent one of the three counties where Gadsden State campuses are located — Etowah, Calhoun and Cherokee counties.

  • President: Tommie Goggans III
  • Vice President: Eric Crabtree
  • Secretary: Gerri Langley
  • Treasurer: Steve Hildebrant 
  • Past President: Mark Condra

Board Members

  • Lynn King
  • Nanda Patel
  • Ricky Ray
  • Honorable Tim Burgess
  • Major General Eric Crabtree
  • Bryan Dorsett
  • Eric Ellis
  • Heather New
  • Theresa Hulgan
  • David Hooks
  • Trudy Lowe
  • Gayle Macolly
  • Anna Moore
  • Scott Shofner
  • Jonathan Tang
  • Davis Varner
  • Bess Yarbrough
Facebook iconFollow The Cardinal Foundation on Facebook